Am I in Japan?

February 24, 2010

Lunar New Year break is student’s only savior in the midst of February. I hated how it was scheduled this time; some days overlapped with weekends. Urgh. Regardless, we had almost a week off. I guess that suffices my greed, because it was enough time for me to go to Yokohama, and Tokyo. Usually, when I travel, I try to look for differences, culture, and general population’s attitudes. To be frank, those are some exciting factors to look at when you are traveling! But, for this time, I was rather surprised. One, I talked to this girl, and she said she likes Big Bang. Two, there are Korean celebrity pictures everywhere. Three, they sell Korean products.

When I travel, I look for foreign friends, and it’s just me who tries to make friends. My mother is an expert at talking to people in a friendly voice. I think our family members are innately friendly to people. So, to make use of my gifted skill, I talked to a girl, who looked just about my age. Although we did not have the same mother language, she knew how to speak English, just a little bit. Amongst my tsunami-like questions, there was one question that I received an interesting respond.

“Who’s your favorite celebrity?”

Notice how I did not specify the nationality of her favorite celebrity.

“Bi-Gu-Bang”

This can be easily translated into “BigBang.”

Although the background music is the Korean version, the video itself consists of BigBang’s performance in Japan.

I was surprised, because an ordinary Japanese girl liked a Korean celebrity. This is a type of answer I would get from Korean teenaged girls. With a bit of bewilderment, I had to leave her. Then, I came across an advertisement with Korean celebrity on it. They probably don’t know how to speak Japanese, yet they are working for a Japanese company (or some other organizations). I took a step further, and ask my self: WHY would they want a Korean celebrity as their models? The answer was simple. Attractive Korean celebrities already occupied Japanese celebrity market, and hence, they favored to use Korean over Japanese. I have seldom heard of Korean wave (한류열풍), and that it is sweeping Japan, but it was simply amazing to experience it.

My family moved on to a different place, as we never like to stay at one place. This time we went to China Town. It was awesome to see “China” in Japan. A bit of ironical situation, but it was enjoyable. When we got through my shopping, we saw a huge market that resembled E-mart. Simply out of curiosity, we went in, and there I saw a Korean product. Rather than surprise, I knew precisely why it was there. Korean wave is sweeping Japan, and I think it is not limited to Japan. It will soon sweep the world; just wait until you see it, and gasp.



These are some pictures that I took from Japan trip. Some are self-centered, for I love taking pictures. It leaves reminiscences. Sometimes, it is more enjoyable to look back in to past; future is also unpredictable, but past is always there for me. It’s like my old friend.

Leave a Reply

