Is It a Small World After All?

March 1, 2010

I have to admit that Japan, despite its land size, is small. I thought I was in a miniature world. The amount of food they serve, size of a typical bus, size of the people were all tiny! I had a prior knowledge that Japan likes small materials, and that Japanese are relatively short (not to mention that they are skinny as well.) Nonetheless, I was surprised to witness it myself. Compared to Korean dishes, their meals are tiny. I’m not a person who craves for food every moment, but I ravenous all the time in Japan. I usually leave some food in Korea, because they give you more than enough quantities of food. However, I was very eco-friendly in Japan; I even ate food that was not my calling. It was a fairly tough experience, but I got over with it.

Do you see the picture below? That is a BUS.

I recalled a moment when there was no body in a subway train in Korea. It was so huge that I took a tour, and gazed at advertisements on the wall. In Japan, subway aisles are narrow as they can be, which challenged me to walk with my luggage. And same with the buses. I wonder how many people could fit there.

People were small, and as a result, their shoes were tiny. I had to buy a birthday present for my friend, and he’s feet were 295mm big. I thought it was huge, but Korea usually has that size. And especially, if it’s a sports wear company, they even have sizes that are bigger than 295. Only to find out: none. In Japan, they don’t even make shoes that are bigger than 285. Just as their products, Japanese people are usually shorter, and skinnier than Koreans. Is that why they are one of the countries with the longest lifespan? Another question is posed.

Leave a Reply

